Skip to McMaster Navigation Skip to Site Navigation Skip to main content
McMaster logo


Competency Based Medical Education

CBME Framework

The basis of CBME: the College of Family Physicians of Canada’s Triple C curriculum and the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada’s Competence by Design (CBD) framework.

The College of Family Physicians’ Triple C Curriculum:

Is Comprehensive, focused on Continuity of education and patient care, and is Centered in Family Medicine.

Learn More about triple c

The Royal College’s Competence by Design:

CBD breaks down specialist medical education into a series of integrated stages, from the beginning of residency through practice, reflecting a progression to competency.


Expandable List

This stage emphasizes the orientation and assessment of new trainees arriving from different medical schools and programs.

This stage covers broad-based competencies that every trainee must acquire before moving on to more advanced, discipline-specific competencies. This stage covers the essential competencies that make up the majority of a discipline.

This stage covers the core competencies that make up the majority of a discipline.

In this stage, the senior trainee demonstrates readiness for autonomous practice.